Document Type

Working Paper

Date of this Version



Christiaan Morrsink


Introduction: (First paragraph only)

The Dominican Republic is located south of Florida and east of Cuba, on the Eastern side Hispaniola; on the western side is Haiti. The Republic operates as representative democracy, with a bicameral national congress comprised of a Senate with 32 members and a Chamber of Deputies that operates similarly to the United States House of Representatives. Elections are held every 4 years for the presidency, and government is formed through a coalition of the three major parties, the Dominican Liberal Party (PLD), the Dominican Reformist Party (PRD), and the Social Christian Reformist Party. The judiciary is based on the US model as of 1994, and the Supreme Court is comprised of 16 judges. Many of the country’s governmental institutions and organs are relatively nascent—most being incepted in the early 1990s—and as such it is critical to pay attention to these institutional shifts.


dominican republic, reform, public health policy

Included in

Business Commons



Date Posted: 18 January 2012


To view the content in your browser, please download Adobe Reader or, alternately,
you may Download the file to your hard drive.

NOTE: The latest versions of Adobe Reader do not support viewing PDF files within Firefox on Mac OS and if you are using a modern (Intel) Mac, there is no official plugin for viewing PDF files within the browser window.