## Rosettes & Ribbons



Or. William Boucher, Professor of Medicine. received the Christian and Mary Lindback Award for Distinguished Teaching, in April 1981. Each year, eight teachers from the University atlarge are chosen for this prestigious award. Dr. Boucher, who joined the faculty in 1940, immediately after graduation, was cited as "a superlative teacher" and one who "has contributed immeasurably to student attainment of clinical acumen."

On June 4, 1981, New Bolton Center held its annual Retirement Dinner at the Red Rose Inn, Jennersville, PA. Those honored on their retirement were Dr. William Boucher.
Mrs. Helen Wherry, and Mrs. Margaret Thomas.



This year the Wharton School is celebrating its centennial. The school opened in 1881 with thirteen students and oneand-a-half professors, following a gift of \$100,000 from Joseph Wharton, a Philadelphia financier and iron manufacturer. It was the first school of business education in the United States and today ranks as one of the outstanding schools in the world.

The following were recipients of citations at the annual meeting of the Veterinary Medical Alumni Society, on Saturday, May 16, 1981: Dr. Martin Kaplan '40. Chief Veterinarian, Public Health of One World Health Organization, cited as "the premier architect of international veterinary public health," ... Dr. David K. Detweller '42, Professor

of Physiology; Director, Comparative Cardiovascular Studies Unit; Chairman, Graduate Group in **Comparative Medical** Science, School of Veterinary Medicine, University of Pennsylvania, commended for his work as a "pioneer in the field of comparative cardiovascular studies." and Or. Margaret L. Petrak. Staff Internist, Angel Memorial Hospital, for her "increasingly significant contributions to our knowledge of the disease of birds," as a researcher, author and editor of scientific books and manuals.

Dr. Kenneth Bovee. D.V.M., M. Med.Sc., was honored in May 1981 with the newly-created Henry and Corinne R. Bower Chair in Medicine. In making the announcement, Dean Robert R. Marshak cited Dr. Bovee's achievements in clinical medicine, research, and administration, which have won him world recognition and "literally put the discipline of nephrology on the map in veterinary medicine." Dean Marshak went on to say, "his work on canine cystinuria, metabolic and renal disorders of spontaneous Fanconi syndrome in dogs, and on the effect of nutrition on kidney function in health and disease, has had a profound influence on modern veterinary



medicine." Dr. Bovee graduated from the Ohio State University in 1961 and came to Penn in 1967. He is Chairman of the Department of Clinical Studies. Mr. Henry Bower and his late wife, Corinne, became interested in the Veterinary School through their lifelong love for animals and the compassionate, expert care their dogs received in the Small Animal Hospital. Mr. Bower is a distinguished alumnus of the University. In endowing the chair, Mr. Bower described Dr. Bovee as "a scientist with a sense of humor, a combination I have found rare in my life."

Dr. William Chalupa. Section of Nutrition, New Bolton Center, was the recipient of the 1981 American Feed Manufacturers Award. Dr. Chalupa was cited for his research on ruminant nutrition where "his most notable and significant contributions have been in the areas of nitrogen utilization and in manipulating the rumen fermentation to increase the efficiency of feed utilization by the animal. In both areas he is considered a world authority." Dr. Chalupa received his B.S. (1958), M.S. (1959), and Ph.D. (1962) from Rutgers University. He joined the faculty of the School of Veterinary Medicine in 1976 and is presently Professor of Nutrition.

Effective July 1, 1981 Dean Marshak appointed Or. Charles Raid as Acting Chairman of the Department of Clinical Studies. New Bolton Center. Dr. Reid is Professor of Radiology, School of Veterinary Medicine, and Professor of Radiological Sciences, School of Medicine. He completed his undergraduate work at the University of Vermont and received his D.V. M. (1956) and M.S. (1960) from Cornell University. In 1971, he was awarded an honorary M.A. by the University of Pennsylvania.

Or. Paul F. Landls. a small animal practitioner in Norfolk, VA was chosen president of the 33,500member American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA).

He was elected by the 66-member House of Delegates during the AVMA's 118th annual meeting in St. Louis, MO. Or. Landis will assume office in July, 1982.

Or. Landis, who served on AVMA's Executive Board from 1975-81, is a 1939 graduate of the University of Pennsylvania School of Veterinary Medicine. He established his Norfolk practice in 1946.

Or. Donald F. Patterson has been named recipient of the Ralston Purina Small Animal Research Award, for 1981. Dr. Patterson is the Charlotte Newton



Sheppard Professor of Medicine, and Chief of the Medical Genetics section. The award was given in recognition of Dr. Patterson's outstanding research in the field of congenital heart disease.

The following appointments and promotions were made for the academic year 1980-81:

**Appointments** Dr. J. Eugan Elganmann **Assistant Professor of** Medicine, Department of Clinical Studies (Philadelphia). Or. Ławrance T. Glickman **Associate Professor of** Epidemiology, Department of Clinical Studies (Philadelphia). Dr. Robart B. Grieve **Assistant Professor of** Parasitology, Department of Pathobiology. Or. Eberhard Rosin **Associate Professor of** 

Surgery, Department of Clinical Studies (Philadelphia). **Dr. Elizabeth A. Stone** Assistant Professor of Surgery, Department of Clinical Studies (Philadelphia).

Promotions
Dr. Samuel K. Chacko to
Professor of Pathology
in the Department of
Pathobiology.
Dr. Vincent J. Cristofalo to
Professor of Biochemistry in the Department of
Animal Biology.

We welcome the following Interns and residents for the year 1981-82 and wish them well during the coming year:

Philadelphia Interns
Dr. Stephan Bassett
Dr. Jeffrey L. Davidson
Dr. James F. Dougherty
Dr. Christina A. Hutson
Dr. David G. Judson
Dr. Paul A. Lunsman
Dr. Lynna Maria Malatz
Dr. Lynn P. Schmeitzel
Dr. Evan S. Stoan
Dr. Mary C. Waltar

New Bolton Center Interns
Dr. Kasmin M. Davis
Dr. Gayle S. Donner
Dr. Allan Drusys
Dr. Dennis G. Gentile
Dr. John B. Madison
Dr. Ruth M. Stokes
Dr. Wendy E. Vaala

Philadelphia Residents

Dr. Oonald J. Brown

Dr. Alexander Coutinas

Dr. Ouncan C. Ferguson

Dr. Joan C. Hendricks
Dr. Hamish M. Robertson
Dr. Oavid T. Matthlesen
Dr. Robert J. Drsher
Dr. Daniel J. McGrath
Dr. Ted Anderson
Dr. Albert H. Lewandowski
Dr. Johann Lang
Dr. Nita irby

New Bolton Center
Residents
Dr. Gregory A. Baroza
Dr. Oavid Marshall

Dr. Benson Martin

Dr. Elizabeth Wertman

Dr. Lawrance DeGeorge

Or. Angelina Warner

Dr. Stanley J. Brown