School of Veterinary Medicine Teaching Awards

The Veterinary School's teaching awards were presented during the annual Student Government Dinner Dance on April 26. This year, Philadelphia's 30th Street Station provided the backdrop for an evening attended by 250 students, faculty, and staff.



Associate Dean Jeffrey A. Wortman, V'69, standing in for the dean, presented the

Dean's Award for Leadership in the Basic Sciences to Dr. Olena Jacenko, associate professor of physiology; the Dean's Award for

Dr. Sophy Jesty

Leadership in Clinical Science was presented to Dr. Billy Smith, assistant professor of medicine in New Bolton Center Field Service. Dr. Smith

also received the Carl J. Norden Dinstinguished Teacher Award.

The two Dean's Awards honor one faculty member from the clinical departments and one from the basic science departments who have made out-



Donna Sisak

standing contributions to teaching their disciplines. The Norden Award was established in 1963 "to recognize outstanding teachers who,



Barbara Cavanaugh

through their ability, dedication, character, and leadership, contribute significantly to the advancement of the profession."

The four classes honored the faculty members they considered to be outstanding

teachers. The Class of 2003 presented awards to Dr. Corinne Sweeney, professor of medi-

cine, and Dr. Kenneth Drobatz, associate professor of critical care medicine. The Class of 2004 honored Raymond Sweeney, V'82, associate professor of medicine. Dr. James Lok, associate professor of parasitology, received



Dr. Ariel Mosenco

the Class of 2005 Award. The Class of 2006 presented its award to Dr. Paul Orsini, director

of gross anatomy.

Cynthia R. Ward,

V'87, assistant professor

of medicine, was pre-

sented the Veterinary

Medical Alumni Society

Excellence in Teaching

Award, which is pre-

sented annually, based

on the recommenda-



Dr. Steven Cole

tions of recent graduates; it is funded by the VMAS.

The Senior Class Resident Awards were presented to Dr. Ariel Mosenco, at the Ryan

Veterinary Hospital, and Dr. Jennifer Smith, at the George D. Widener Hospital. The Senior Class Intern Awards were presented to Dr. Vanessa Butler



Dr. Dan Fletcher

nicians Paula Emma (Ryan) and Emily Zug (Widener).

Other awards presented were: The Jules and



Eileen Rule

Lucy Silver Award to Dr. Dan Fletcher (Ryan); the Interns' Award to Dr. Steven Cole (Ryan); the Resident's Award to Dr. Kenneth Drobatz: the Boucher Award to Dr. Sophy Jesty; the Harcum College

Technician Award to **Eileen Rule** (Widener)

and Donna Sisak (Ryan); the Gretchen Swartz Award to Jennifer Wrigley; and the Senior Student Patient Care Awards to Charles Arensberg and Holly **Connolly** (Widener) and Jill Abraham and Meredith Daly (Ryan).

The Veterinary Medical Student Government honored Barbara Cavanaugh, librarian, and Dr. Corinne Sweeney.



Dr. Stephen Mehler

Emily Zug



Dr. Ray Sweeney



Dr. Jacenko



Dr. Jennifer Smith



Dr. Billy Smith



Dr. Vanessa Butler



Dr. Paul Orsini





Dr. James Lok



Paula Emma

10 **BELLWETHER 57**

