115TH COMMENCEMENT

amily and friends filled the Zellerbach Theatre at the Annenberg Center on May 22 for the 115th Commencement Exercises of the School. Cameras clicked and families cheered as 99 graduates and members of the faculty marched in and took their places on the stage. The Class of 2000 was composed of 78 women and 21 men. This brings the total of Penn veterinary graduates to 1,683 women and 3,943 men.

Dean Kelly opened the ceremony and he was followed by Christine Connelly, chair, the School's Board of Overseers. The commencement address was given by Dr. Arthur L. Kaplan, director of the University's Center for Bioethics.

During the presentation of the diplomas and the hooding, Dr. Kelly was

assisted by Dr. James B. Lok, Dean's Awardee for Leadership in Basic Science Education, Dr. Dorothy Brown, Dean's Awardee for Leadership in Clinical Science Education, and Associate Dean Dr. Charles Newton.

Veterinary Medical Alumni Society
President Dr. Robert W. Stewart, V'68,
presented the class flag to Class President
Omar Farias-Llovet. Dr. Dean
Richardson, 2000 Carl J. Norden
Distinguished Teacher Awardee, assisted
with the awarding of prizes and Dr.
Jeffrey A. Wortman, V'69, associate dean
for curricular affairs, assisted with the
recognition of honor graduates. The official part of the proceedings came to a
close after PVMA President Lawrence J.
Gerson, V'75, administered the Veterinarian's Oath to the newly minted VMDs.



Class of 2000

Leslie Carter Agulnick ** Tracy Beth Akner Samantha Lynn Asikainen Elizabeth Branscomb Bales Laney Jean Baris * Gillian Lee Beamer Annette Belovi Linda Marie Bender Heather Aimee Berst Benjamin Marc Brainard Jason William Brooks *** Jennifer Kay Buchholz *** Catherine Elizabeth Buck Christine Michele Burhans-Scruggs Gabor Rocco Capodanno * Heather Elizabeth Chalfant *** Sonja Tsung-Ying Chou Monica Carrie Clare ** Mary-Margaret Rachel Clements Lisa Rose Cote Shawn Matthew Day Jamison DeSantis Joan Diebold * Claudia Page Dwyer Jennifer Whitcomb Elliot Michael Joseph Engler Omar Farias-Llovet Allison Jane Felley Dana Danette Fite Dawn Catherine Fitzhugh Michael Joseph Fullmer Teresa Vanderlaan Garofalo

Sarah Morrill Gladstone Kirsten Brenda Glass * Jennifer Allison Granite Cheryl Marie Gross Tracey Anne Hall Caroline Breneman Hallman Troy Matthew Hallman Jennifer Sayler Hamlet Kimberly Beth Hammer John Davidson Hershey Anne Elizabeth Hessinger Julie Mae Hoberman Amy Holford Jennifer Ann Hopkinson Hillary Rachel Gorman Israeli Krista Sue Kasprenski * Elizabeth Louise Knighton Deborah Lynn Landis Scott Lewis Erika Kirsten Lilja Lise Marie Lund Kimberly Sharon Chee-Len Mah Kristin Ann Mahoney Janna Makovoz Susana Martinez-Walter Michelle Stacey Mayers April Dawn McCord Blaire Lynn Michael Kelli Lynn Monahan Heidi Kay Moore Anita Pratt Morris ** Margaret Childs Mudge * Jaime Alexandra Napolitano Alisa Linn Newton ***

Sabrina Nicole Nye Lisa Marie Olver * Diane Elizabeth Overley ** Sherry Ann Podhavny Tammy Lynn Rakowski Jeanette Rilling Susan Stavros Rourke Jack Denver Runk Marcela Salas Jodie Ann Elizabeth Santore Elena Sawickij Sean Douglas Sawyer Kenneth Robert Schwartz Lisa Jean Shientag Howard Lawrence Silberman Lara Joan Slusarz Stephanie Eileen Snyder Caroline Michelle Soter ** Perri Stark Tripp Morgan Stewart Elvira Minge Tate * Tanya Thies Donna Marie Trent-Burchess Tara Krystal Trotman *** Dana Lee Walck Jennifer Jane Wandell Michael Robert Watts Kelli Elaine Weaver Jacob Robert Werner Staci Phillips Wiemelt Edwin Alberto Zayas-Cruz ***Summa Cum Laude **Magna Cum Laude *Cum Laude

Curtis Henry Geary

Athan Vasilios Gerovasiliou











Award Recipients

Leonard Pearson Prize
Jacob Robert Werner

J.B. Lippincott Prize
Jennifer Kay Buchholz

1930 Class Prize in Surgery Heather Elizabeth Chalfant

Auxiliary to the American Veterinary Medical Association Prize Benjamin Marc Brainard

Auxiliary to the Pennsylvania Veterinary Medical Association Prize—Small Animal Award Elvira Minge Tate

Auxiliary to the Pennsylvania Veterinary Medical Association Prize—Large Animal Award Lara Joan Slusarz

1956 Class Medal for Achievement in Pathology

Tara Krystal Trotman

James Hazlitt Jones Prize in Biochemistry Joan Diebold

American Animal Hospital Association

Sean Douglas Sawyer

Merck Awards

Small Animal Award
Gabor Rocco Capodanno
Large Animal Award
Teresa Vanderlaan Garofalo

George M. Palmer Prize April Dawn McCord

Everingham Prize for Cardiology Gabor Rocco Capodanno

Large Animal Surgery Prize Jennifer Kay Buchholz

Large Animal Medicine Prize Kirsten Brenda Glass

Morris L. Ziskind Prize in Food Animal Medicine Scott Lewis

Morris L. Ziskind Prize in Public Health

Monica Carrie Clare

Hill's Award Blaire Lynn Michael

Pharmacia & Upjoin Awards Small Animal Award Caroline Michelle Sorter Large Animal Award Jennifer Kay Buchholz

Faculty/SCAVMA Prize Alisa Linn Newton **American College of Veterinary Surgeons Prizes**

Small Animal Surgery Prize Tara Krystal Trotman Large Animal Surgery Prize Kirsten Brenda Glass

American Association of Feline Practitioners Award Jennifer Ann Hopkinson

Field Service Prize
Jacob Robert Werner

Phi Zeta AwardDiane Elizabeth Overley

Anatomy Prize Tara Krystal Trotman

American College of Veterinary Radiology Award Marcela Salas

Iams/VECCS Award for Excellence in Veterinary Emergency and Critical Care

Benjamin Marc Brainard

Charles F. Reid Sports Medicine and Imaging Award Heather Aimee Berst

Lynn Sammons Food Animal Award Jason William Brooks

VetSmart Human/Pet Bond Award Hillary Rachel Gorman Israeli