School of Veterinary Medicine Teaching Awards

The Veterinary School's teaching awards were presented during the Veterinary Medical Student Government Teaching Award Ceremony and Reception on April 27 at Houston Hall.

Dean Alan M. Kelly presented the Dean's Award for Leadership in the Basic Sciences to Thomas J. Van Winkle, V'75, professor of pathology; and the Dean's Award for Leadership in Clinical Science to Dr. Kathryn Michel, assistant professor of medicine.

The two Dean's Awards honor one faculty member from the clinical departments and one

from the basic science departments who have made outstanding contributions to teaching their disciplines.

Dr. Robert Gilley was presented the Carl J. Norden Distinguished Teacher Award. The Norden Award was



Dr. Gilley

profession." The four classes honored the faculty members

Dr. Van Winkle

established in 1963 "to

recognize outstanding

teachers who, through

their ability, dedication,

character, and leadership,

contribute significantly to

the advancement of the

they considered to be outstanding teachers. The

Class of 2004 presented awards to Dr. Dean

Richardson, professor of surgery, and Dr. Robert Gilley, assistant professor of surgery. The Class of 2005 honored Patricia Sertich, V'83, associate professor of reproduction. Dr. Amy Kapatkin, associate professor of surgery, received the



Dr. Mayhew

Ms. Whelan

Class of 2006 Award. The Class of 2007 presented

its award to Mark Donaldson, V'93, assistant professor in equine field service.

The Senior Class Residents Awards were presented to Dr. Philipp Mayhew (Ryan) and Dr. Kathryn Worman

(Widener). Senior Class Interns Awards were presented to Nate Harvey, V'03 (Widener) and Dr.

Todd Bishop (Ryan). The

Class honored veterinary

Richardson (Ryan) and

Other awards present-

Emily Zug (Widener).

ed were: the Interns

Mehler (Ryan); the

Dr. Mehler

Award to **Jennifer**

Wrigley (Widener) and

Emily Zug (Widener);

Senior Student Patient

Awards to Simon Alex-

ander, V'04, Elizabeth

Appleman, V'04, and

Oliver Morgan, V'04;

the Veterinary Medical

Award to Dr. Stephen

Resident's Award to Dr.

technicians Claire



Dr. Hume

Karen Rosenthal (Ryan): the Jules and Lucy Silver Award to Dr. Daniel Hume (Ryan); the Boucher Award to Amy Bentz, V'97 (Widener); the Harcum College Technician Award to **Eileen Rule** (Widener) and Donna Sisak (Ryan); the Gretchen Swartz



Dr. Worman

Student Government Commendation Awards to Sarah Whelan, Bobbie Jo Fettner, and Christen Wink.



Dr. Donaldson



Dr. Kapatkin

Dr. Gilley



Dr. Michel



Dr. Harvey



Dr. Bentz



Ms. Wrigley



Dr. Richardson

Dr. Sertich

New Diplomates

A number of clinicians attained diplomate status in the American College of Internal Veterinary Medicine: Jennifer Baez, V'92, assistant professor in oncology, and Beth Overley, V'00, lecturer in oncology, in the specialty of oncology; and Dr. Reid Groman, staff veterinarian, in internal medicine.

Dr. Hannah Galatino-Homer, postdoctoral fellow, is now a diplomate of the American College of Theriogenologists; Dr. Laurie Sorrell-Raschi, lecturer in critical care-anesthesia, is now a diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Anesthesiologists.



Ms. Richardson



Dr. Rosenthal



Ms. Zug

